Wednesday, November 14, 2018

Disney Animal Kingdom News for November 14, 2018: After Hours

After Hours: Tickets are on sale now for an after hour event in DAK. For a $125 per person, you get three hours in the park. At night. DVC and Annual Pass holders pay only $95. Ice cream. popcorn and non-alcoholic drinks are included. The dates for same are Dec. 4, 12 and 18, 2018; and Jan. 8, 16, 22 and 31, 2019; and Feb. 5, 6, 12, 13, 19 and 26, 2019; and March 5, 20 and 27, 2019; and April 3, 2019. Tree of Life Awakenings and Pandora are open as well as other older attractions. 




Thursday November 15 8 am - 8:00 pm
Friday November 16 8 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday November 17 8 am- 8:00 am  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday November 18 8 am- 9:00 pm
Monday November 19  8 am- 9:00 pm
Tuesday November 20 8 am- 9:00 pm Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Wednesday November 21 8 am- 9:00 pm

Wednesday, October 24, 2018

Disney Animal Kingdom News for October 24, 2018

New Okapi: Another baby is present at the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Mom, Zelda and Dad, Mandazi, were chosen to breed through the SSP. The calf will be offstage for a few months, but keep an eye out at Kidani Village.


New DVC resort: Ordinarily, I wouldn't comment on such a thing, but this nature inspired. Disney said the resort will be "nature inspired." There will be 900 rooms or so. The resort will be located between  the Wilderness Lodge and Fort Wilderness. There will also be varied room types.



Thursday October 25 9 am - 8:00 pm
Friday October 26 9 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday October 27 9 am- 8:00 am  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday October 28 9 am- 8:00 pm
Monday October 29  9 am- 8:00 pm 
Tuesday October 30 9 am- 8:00 pm Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Wednesday October 31 9 am- 8:00 pm

Wednesday, October 3, 2018

Disney's Animal Kingdom News for October 4, 2018: Rafiki is back

Save Rafiki: Apparently the story that Rafiki's Planet Watch was closing was fake news. Its going down for an "extensive" refurbishment and will reopen in the Spring (probably Earth Day) of next year. The train will obviously be back then. We shall see what the refurbishment entails. No word from Disney yet.


Drinkwallah: Additional seating is being added to this establishment. It appears an additional structure is going near the water. Its a great place to sit, but in the past there have been only a few tables and seats. Its tremendously themed, so this is a good thing.




Thursday October 4 9 am - 8:00 pm
Friday October 5 9 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday October 6 9 am- 8:00 am  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday October 7 9 am- 8:00 pm
Monday October 8  9 am- 8:00 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday October 9 9 am- 8:00 pm
Wednesday October 10 9 am- 8:00 pm

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Animal Kingdom News for September 27, 2018:

Lion King Dance Party: The new Hakuna Matata Time Dance party will be happening on Discovery Island starting in January. It is a celebration of the 25th anniversary of the movie. Timon and Rafiki will be dancing too. It will end in September of 2019.

So Long Planet Watch: According to Cast members, they have been told the attraction, petting zoo and show will be closed permanently on October 21st. This is obviously a stupid cost cutting measure. It is unclear if the space will become empty space or they are planning a replacement. Tune into Radio Harambe soon for an homage to the attraction. Please note Disney has said diddly squat so far on the issue.


Rivers of Light: Disney has really put a hammer down on cast members involved in entertainment. The latest is that the shamans who make the show better, are being cut completely as of September 29th. Really Disney?



Hours: Take a look below at the hours. They are kind of all over the place. So if you're down there, plan accordingly.


Thursday September 27 9 am - 9:00 pm
Friday September 28 9 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday September 29 9 am- 12:00 am  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday September 30 9 am- 6:00 pm
Monday October 1  9 am- 10:00 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday October 2 9 am- 6:00 pm
Wednesday October 3 9 am- 10:00 pm

Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Animal Kingdom News for September 19, 2018: New Rhino Experience

New Rhino Tour: A new tour similar to the elephant tour. Its a 60 minute guided tour. You go backstage and may even touch a rhino. Booking the tour starts on September 22, World Rhino Day. It will be $40 with discounts for AP and DVC members. Guests must be 4 years old.



New Food items: I know, food changes are common, but here are some. At breakfast, you can find french toast sticks at Pongu Pongu. I guess the Na'vi are french? Halloween popcorn buckets are available in Harambe. So naturally, the candy store has Halloween cupcakes. The Starbucks now has yogurt parfaits, not a bad breakfast option.




Thursday September 20 9 am - 8:00 pm
Friday September 21 9 am - 8:00 pm
Saturday September 22 9 am- 9:30  pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday September 23 9 am- 8:00 pm
Monday September 24  9 am- 8:00 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday September 25 9 am- 8:00 pm
Wednesday September 26 9 am- 8:00 p

Thursday, September 6, 2018

Animal Kingdom Theme Spotlight: Pandora to Harambe

The park does serene well. We all know it. Even when you first walk into the park, the mood is one of quietness (which can be hard to pull off at rope drop). For certain, Pandora is not serene. At least not yet. The place, especially first thing in the morning, is a mad house.



In creating Pandora, the imagineers have given us another example of that peacefulness they are so good at creating with this path that leads from the theater district of Harambe - where the lion king show plays - to Pandora near the gift shop and Sa'tuli Canteen.




In the middle of the day, there is often no one using this area, and it is very pretty walk along the Discovery River.




At certain times, there is even entertainment there. We walked the path around lunch time and found a duo performing creating even more ambiance.



It is places like this that really put the Animal Kingdom ahead of all other parks in my mind. Yes, the attractions are great. The zoological exhibits are top notch. But it is places like this where the park shines.

Wednesday, August 29, 2018

Animal Kingdom News for August 29, 2018: More babies

New Giraffe: Aella a baby Masai giraffe, was first introduced to the safari. So next time you go, you will be able to see the little one. A video was released by Disney here. Aella was born June 29th.




New Madrill: speaking of babies on the safari, you can see a baby mandrill. Rebecca Phillips is coordinating matches for Mandrill under the Species Survival plan for the largest of baboons. Ms. Phillips is Disney Animal Operations manager. In that role, she also runs the SSP for mandrills.

Thursday August 30 9 am - 8:30 pm
Friday August 31 9 am - 8:30 pm
Saturday September 1 9 am- 8:30  pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday September 2 9 am- 10 pm
Monday September 3  9 am- 9 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday September 4 9 am- 8:30 pm
Wednesday September 5 9 am- 8:30 p

Wednesday, August 8, 2018

Disney's Animal Kingdom News for August 8, 2018: new dining package


New Dining Package: A new dining package is here for Festival of the Lion King. The package includes a meal at Tiffins and special VIP viewing of the show. The meal includes an appetizer, entree, dessert and drink, which includes beer and wine. Tier 1 package also includes a special safari tour with a personal tour guide. That costs $99 for an adult and only $49 for kids under 12. Tier 2 excludes the safari and is $74 and $29. Between this and Rivers of Light dining package I am left wondering if Tiffins isn't doing all that well. The packages start August 13th.


No more straws: Disney is developing plans to eliminate some plastics that are not biodegradable. By summer 2019, Disney plans to remove all single use plastic straws and plastic stirrers. Disney uses 175 million straws and 13 million stirrers annually. The hotels and cruise ships are also hoping to eliminate 80% of in room plastics, as well.

Thursday August 9 9 am - 9:30 pm
Friday August 10 9 am - 9:30 pm
Saturday August 11 9 am- 9:30  pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday  August 12 9 am- 9:30 pm
Monday August 13  9 am- 8:30 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday August 14 9 am- 9:30 pm
Wednesday August 15 9 am- 9:30 pm

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Disney's Animal Kingdom News for July 25, 2018: Food and lounges

New Lounge: Disney has opened a new lounge in Dinoland. Its taking over the garage section of Restaurantosaurus starting at 5 pm. They've added lanterns and secluded the lounge from the rather noisy areas of the place. There is outdoor seating, as well. The menu is quite limited with three non-alcoholic, four alcoholic drinks and 2 small plates, buffalo chicken dip and mixed nuts. Maybe if this place is well received they will expand the menu but for now it seems like a nice place to get out of the heat for a bit.

New option at Tiffins: One of our favorite places is, of course, Tiffins. They have started a new Prix-Fixe option at lunch. You can select an appetizer and entree or an entree and dessert. The apps include the apple walnut salad and falafel. The entrees you can select include the Wagyu Beef Tagine or roasted chicken. Desserts include the chocolate ganache and the guava mousse. The price isn't too bad considering this is a signature restaurant. It is $35 per guest. You can still order off the regular menu, this is just an option, not a replacement. Also, it is from 11 am to 3:30 pm.

Thursday July 26 9 am - 10:30 pm

Friday July 27 9 am - 10:30 pm

Saturday July 38 9 am- 10:30  pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning

Sunday  July 29  am- 10 pm

Monday July 30  9 am- 10 pm   Extra Magic Hour in the morning

Tuesday July 31 9 am- 10 pm

Wednesday August 1 9 am- 10 pm

Wednesday, July 18, 2018

Disney Animal Kingdom News for July 18, 2018: More food news

New dessert party: Seems like all the other night time events had dessert parties and now Rivers of Light joins that lineup. Assuming you want to pay the price, you will show up an hour early to Asia viewing terrace near Expedition Everest. Like all other dessert parties, you get desserts and specialty drinks including alcoholic beverages followed by a special area to view the show. The price is $79 for adults and $47 for kids. It begins on August 11 and will be available on Mondays, Thursdays and Saturdays. Enjoy.




Pizzafari Family Style: the very mediocre pizza place on Discovery Island is adding a family style dinner. Two rooms will be made available for a family style meal instead of seating for the counter service. It starts on July 31 and you will be able to make an ADR. You select once there, 2 appetizers, three entrees and a dessert served family style. Its only available for dinner (5-8pm). Soft drinks are available and you can buy alcoholic drinks. The price is relatively reasonable, at $19.99 for adults and $11.99 for kids. As an aside, the place recently added a shrimp flatbread and cannoli cake.




Thursday July19 9 am - 10:30 pm
Friday July 20 9 am - 10 pm
Saturday July 21 9 am- 10  pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Sunday  July 22  am- 10:30 pm
Monday July 23  9 am- 10:30 pm  Extra Magic Hour in the morning
Tuesday July 24 9 am- 10:30 pm
Wednesday July 25 9 am- 10:30 pm 

Friday, July 13, 2018

Jungle Trek Statues

There are a lot of fun details in the trek. This statue is located near the end of the aviary. Anandapur and even Discovery Island have a lot of these types of theming elements. 


The aviary was once the grand ballroom of the palace and this statue I suppose decorated the grounds. Now it sits covered with moss. 

Thursday, July 5, 2018

Episode 138 of Radio Harambe - Zoo or Nahtazu?

Despite what they may have wanted to you to think, Disney's Animal Kingdom has always been a zoo. In this episode Dave and Safari Mike traces the zoological history of DAK. Asante Sana and enjoy the show!